A Rough Guide to the WTBA World Tenpin Bowling Championships

The World Tenpin Bowling Association (WTBA), along with the governing body World Bowling, conducts various tenpin bowling competitions and events around the world. The sport’s most prestigious event, the WTBA World Tenpin Bowling Championships, will take place in Las Vega in 2019.  There are a number of bowling tournaments that are televised each year allowing viewers to catch a glimpse of some incredibly skilled players. Ensuring that you have a fully functioning aerial is important to ensure that you can watch the matches with crystal images. If you need a new aerial then take a look at TV Aerial Installation Cheltenham company http://steveunettaerials.co.uk/services/tv-aerials-repair-and-installation-cheltenham/ to see how they can help you.

Image Credit

As alluded to by this article from bowlingdigital.com, the competition in 2013 was the first combined men’s and women’s World Championships since the one in 2003 in Malaysia’s capital, Kuala Lumpur. 36 teams of men and 36 teams of women, totalling 428 individual competitors, from a range of countries across North and South America, Asia and Europe descended on Henderson, Nevada, to compete for gold medals in various team and singles events.

Championship Structure

At every championship, each individual bowler plays 24 games across four initial categories – singles, doubles, trios and team events – with medals awarded to the top three in a similar fashion to the Olympic Games. The all-event category comprises the 24 bowlers with the highest pinball numbers across all their first 24 games. The champions in this category, as the USA’s Chris Barnes and Shannon O’Keefe were in 2013, pick up the all-event title, which is considered world bowling’s most coveted award.

After the all-event medals comes the Masters category, in which the top 24 all-eventers face off in 30 games with the top eight and then progress to a second round. The top eight then complete a gruelling match-play scenario before the final four play in the semi-finals, with the highest-ranked competitor playing the fourth-highest in one match and the other featuring the second and third seeds. Losing semi-finalists share the Masters bronze medal, while the winners compete in the final for the gold. In a remarkable turn of events, in 2013 both the men’s and women’s Masters golds were collected by a husband and wife. The pair, Cho Young-Seon and Son Yun-Hee, sealed a fantastic tournament for their country, with South Korea’s women also being crowned Team World Champions.

Increased Competition

In order to emulate the best pro players, it is advisable to begin to accrue tournament experience as early as possible. Tournament places at the WTBA World Tenpin Bowling Championships are in high demand, and if you are to cross bowling balls with the very best, a proven tournament record is a must.

The growth in popularity of the WTBA championships led to the separation of men’s and women’s competitions over two years, starting with 2005’s women’s event in Aalborg. However, the combined competition is now back as a quadrennial event for both men and women alongside the individual championships.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *